Is Ozzy Osbourne Still Alive? He Died in 2025 at 76
Few questions have a longer tail than “Is Ozzy Osbourne still alive?” — the internet kept asking it long after the Black Sabbath frontman became a walking legend. In July 2025, the answer settled for good: Reuters (international wire service) reported that Ozzy died at 76 on July 22, and his family confirmed the news the next morning. The death certificate that followed added medical specifics the first headlines didn’t have.
Died: July 22, 2025 ·
Age at death: 76 ·
Place of death: Harefield Hospital, United Kingdom ·
Cause of death (death certificate): Out-of-hospital cardiac arrest; acute myocardial infarction ·
Death announced by family: July 23, 2025
Quick snapshot
- No — Ozzy Osbourne is not alive. He died on July 22, 2025, at age 76 (Reuters).
- His family announced the death on July 23, 2025 (People, celebrity news magazine).
- The death certificate lists out-of-hospital cardiac arrest (The New York Times, which obtained the certificate).
- Acute myocardial infarction — the medical term for heart attack — is also listed (USA Today, national news outlet).
- Pronounced dead at Harefield Hospital in the United Kingdom at age 76 (People).
- Last words — not documented in the sources reviewed.
- Sobriety at the exact time of death — not addressed by the family statement.
- Who found him — not identified in the public record.
- Inheritance terms — not specified in the obituaries reviewed.
The record converges quickly: several outlets report the same medical endpoint, and the one document they all point to is the death certificate.
| Field | Value | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| Cause of death | Out-of-hospital cardiac arrest | The New York Times |
| Heart attack | Acute myocardial infarction | USA Today |
| Additional cause | Coronary artery disease | NBC News |
| Joint cause | Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction | The New York Times |
| Certificate wording | Causes described as joint causes | NBC Connecticut |
| Prior injury | Spinal injury, 2019 | Encyclopaedia Britannica |
Why did Ozzy Osbourne pass away?
The death certificate, obtained by The New York Times, turned a rumored cause into a documented one. The medical picture that emerged is more layered than a single headline.
Did Ozzy Osbourne die of a heart attack?
- Out-of-hospital cardiac arrest — the final event on the certificate (The New York Times).
- Acute myocardial infarction — the medical term for heart attack (USA Today).
- Coronary artery disease — listed among the reported causes (NBC News).
- Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction — reported as a joint cause (The New York Times).
So the short answer is yes — the certificate names a heart attack as part of the medical picture. But a headline that says “Ozzy died of a heart attack” is incomplete, because the certificate reportedly treats several conditions as joint causes.
The certificate’s wording reportedly treats cardiac arrest, acute myocardial infarction, coronary artery disease, and Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction as joint causes. Any single-cause headline simplifies a layered official record.
The implication: “heart attack” is not wrong, but it is partial. The certificate is the closest thing to an official answer, and its official answer is a cluster of causes, not one clean line.
Did Ozzy pass away at home or in a hospital?
The family’s July 23 statement confirmed the loss but did not specify where he died. People reported that Osbourne was pronounced dead at Harefield Hospital in Uxbridge, and The New York Times reported that an air ambulance flew to his home near Chalfont St. Giles in Buckinghamshire on the day of his death.
Together, those details point to a cardiac event at home, with the official pronouncement taking place at the hospital. The air-ambulance detail is reported, not officially confirmed.
Who found Ozzy Osbourne dead?
- No source in the research reviewed for this article names the person who found him.
- The family’s announcement did not include that detail.
- The death-certificate reporting focuses on the medical cause, not the discovery.
The confirmed part of the record starts at the medical response, not before it.
Newsroom phrasing matters: “died at Harefield Hospital” is supported by People’s reporting; “died at home” is not directly stated in the family announcement. The air-ambulance call is the reported middle step, not the official endpoint.
What this means: the official place of death is a hospital, while the human story begins at his home near Chalfont St. Giles — and the family has kept the in-between moments private.
What did Ozzy say before he died?
No source in the material reviewed here documents his last words. The family’s July 23 announcement did not include a final quote from Ozzy, and the obituaries that followed focused on the death certificate and the legacy rather than a parting line.
What were Ozzy Osbourne’s last words?
- No verified last-words quote appears in the Reuters wire report, the People report, or the death-certificate coverage from The New York Times, USA Today, or NBC News.
- The family’s statement focused on the loss and the family, not a specific quote.
- The closest thing to an official final message is the family’s own public notice.
Repeating an unverified last-words quote would turn a rumor into a false fact.
The pattern: when a public figure dies, “last words” is one of the first questions fans ask and one of the last details a family confirms. Ozzy’s final words are not part of the confirmed record.
Was Ozzy sober when he died?
No source in the research reviewed here says whether Ozzy was sober at the exact time of death. The family’s statement did not address it, and the death certificate’s listed causes are cardiac and neurological — not substance-related.
That silence is itself the finding. Sobriety is not a line on a death certificate, and the reporting around his death did not turn it into one.
What health conditions did Ozzy Osbourne have?
- Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction — listed as a joint cause on the certificate (The New York Times).
- Coronary artery disease — listed among the reported causes (NBC News).
- Spinal injury, 2019 — part of the biographical record (Encyclopaedia Britannica).
Ozzy publicly disclosed a Parkinson’s diagnosis in 2020, Reuters reported, and the certificate’s joint-cause wording does not make Parkinson’s the single explanation for his death.
For anyone trying to separate Ozzy’s actual health record from the tabloid version, the certificate is the anchor: Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction is one reported joint cause, not the whole story, and no substance-related cause appears on the listed record.
The trade-off: a public health history invites public conclusions, but the verified record limits those conclusions to what the certificate and the biographical reporting actually support.
How old was Ozzy Osbourne when he died?
He was 76. The family’s announcement, carried by Reuters, put his age at 76, and the death-certificate reporting that followed did not reopen the question.
For anyone asking “how old was Ozzy Osbourne when he died,” the verified answer is 76.
Why this matters: the age question was never really about arithmetic. It was about whether the “Is he alive?” loop had finally stopped — and the family’s date and age closed that loop.
Who was Ozzy’s final guitarist?
The obituaries reviewed here do not name a final guitarist. What the record does establish is the solo-era foundation: Encyclopaedia Britannica describes Osbourne as the lead vocalist of Black Sabbath and credits his solo career, launched in the 1980s, to albums including Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman.
Did Ozzy go to Randy Rhoads’ funeral?
- The sources reviewed here do not state whether Osbourne attended Randy Rhoads’ funeral.
- Randy Rhoads is the guitarist most linked to the early solo era — the Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman years — not to the final lineup.
That question belongs to a different chapter of the story, and the provided sources leave it unanswered.
What are Ozzy Osbourne’s major albums?
- Black Sabbath’s early catalog, with Osbourne as lead vocalist (Encyclopaedia Britannica).
- Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman — the solo launchpad (Encyclopaedia Britannica).
“Is Ozzy Osbourne still alive?” has a one-word answer. The catalog question runs much longer, and the solo albums that defined his post-Sabbath years are where most fans start.
The implication: the “final guitarist” question may not have an answer in the public record, but the musical legacy does — and it points back to the early solo years with Randy Rhoads, not to the lineup that ended the touring era.
Ozzy Osbourne death: key dates
- — Ozzy Osbourne died at 76; People reported he was pronounced dead at Harefield Hospital.
- — His family announced the death (People).
- — The New York Times reported that the death certificate listed out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.
- Early August 2025 — USA Today and NBC News added acute myocardial infarction and coronary artery disease to the public record.
The timeline shows a telling gap: the family spoke on July 23, but the medical specifics only entered the public record two weeks later, when outlets obtained the certificate.
What this means: the delay between announcement and certificate created a vacuum, and the vacuum is where rumors about last words, sobriety, and inheritance tend to grow.
Confirmed facts vs. open questions
Confirmed facts
- Ozzy Osbourne died on July 22, 2025, at age 76.
- His family announced the death on July 23, 2025.
- People reported he was pronounced dead at Harefield Hospital.
- The death certificate lists out-of-hospital cardiac arrest.
- Acute myocardial infarction, the medical term for heart attack, is also listed.
What’s unclear
- Whether verified last words were recorded.
- Whether Ozzy was sober at the exact time of death.
- Who personally found him before medical care took over.
- How coronary artery disease factored into the final causal chain.
- The full inheritance and will details.
The split is clean: the confirmed side relies on documents and family statements, while the unclear side is where the unanswered fan questions live.
Why this matters: readers who separate these two lists will have a better fact base than most headlines — and a clearer view of what remains genuinely unknown.
What the sources said
A death certificate obtained by The New York Times lists out-of-hospital cardiac arrest as part of the cause, with acute myocardial infarction and Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction reported as joint causes.
— The New York Times, August 5, 2025
Coronary artery disease was listed among the reported causes on the death certificate.
— NBC News
Osbourne was the lead vocalist of Black Sabbath and built a successful solo career in the 1980s on records such as Blizzard of Ozz and Diary of a Madman.
— Encyclopaedia Britannica
The editorial read: the source base is narrow but consistent — wire, newspaper, broadcast, and encyclopedia reporting agree on the core facts, and none of them supplies the rumored details.
The takeaway
Ozzy Osbourne is not alive, and the verified record is firmer than the internet noise suggests: a family announcement on July 23, a hospital pronouncement at Harefield, and a death certificate that names cardiac arrest, a heart attack, coronary artery disease, and Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction as joint causes. For fans who grew up with Black Sabbath and the early solo albums, the implication is clear: revisit Blizzard of Ozz and the Sabbath catalog while the record is fresh, or let the tabloid chaos of his later years crowd out the voice that changed metal.
Frequently asked questions
When did Ozzy Osbourne die?
Ozzy Osbourne died on July 22, 2025, at age 76 (Reuters). His family announced the death on July 23, 2025 (People).
Who announced Ozzy Osbourne’s death?
His family announced the death on July 23, 2025, in a statement carried by Reuters.
Who will inherit Ozzy Osbourne’s money?
The sources reviewed here do not specify inheritance terms. The family’s public statements focused on the loss, not the will.
Is Sharon Osbourne still alive?
The sources reviewed here do not address Sharon Osbourne’s current status. The family’s announcements and the obituaries reviewed for this article focus on Ozzy’s death.
Why was Ozzy Osbourne’s death certificate newsworthy?
Because it added a verified medical record to a heavily speculated story: out-of-hospital cardiac arrest, acute myocardial infarction, coronary artery disease, and Parkinson’s disease with autonomic dysfunction were reported as joint causes (The New York Times · USA Today · NBC News).